National and historical symbols of Hungary

In this section you can find the crests of almost 2400 settlements of Hungary with notes. Find the starting letter of the settlement in the list and click if you want to see it.

The Coat-of-Arms of the Town of Túrkeve [¤]
Click to zoom

Túrkeve

(The County of Jász-Nagykun-Szolnok)

The first known coated seal of Kevi was used by Judge Mihály Vasati next to his own name, when he authorised the census of 1713. Although the upper layer of this round seal was unfortunately removed in a rude manner, its intact pair was successfully identified on a document dated 1721, next to the name of Judge János Jósa. Another document dated 1722, issued by the council and the jurors, also had the same vax seal on it. The 21 by 24 mm size and the contours of these two coated seals are identical with those of the damaged one dated 1713. From this it can be concluded that the completion of the village's administrative organization was immediately followed by the the creation of the local seal. On this the coat-of-arms is bordered by a legend enfiled by a string of pearls and a ring-shaped frame of lines. The legend reads *HANNS: GOTTFRIED LIENPACH VON LIENPACH*.

Shield erect, quarterly, the base slightly pointed. In dexter chief (first) and in sinister base (fourth) respectively a lion rampant, queue fourché; in dexter base (second) and in sinister chief (third) a bend sinister wavy respectively, as if each other's continuation. Across the top and forming an abatement in the chief a label with an open barred helmet surmounted by a crown verdured three; round the gorget a medaillon. The crown is surmounted by a crowned demi-lion, langued, queue fourché, issuing from between two eagle vols and holding in the dexter paw a straight sabre. Over the ornamented mantling the letter T on the dexter, the letter K on the sinister.

The most unique feature of this extremely beautiful coat-of-arms is the name of a German nobleman as a legend, which is unprecedented considering other settlements of Jazygian-Cumanian origin. However, no other coat-of-arms can be found in the Jazygian-Cumanian region containing a name or bearing any reference to a name as a charge or a legend. The above-mentioned feature is also peculiar because in the period of the creation of the seal Túrkeve, as well as the larger region called Nagykunság, were the possessions of the Order of the Teutonic Knights. So far no scientific reference has been made concerning the name von Liempach either in connection with Túrkeve or with Jászkunság. Apart from the seal itself, no other archival data exist either. Nevertheless, it is obvious that a person called Hanns Lienpach played a significant role in Kevi's contemporary life, since the new settlement had his name engraved in its coat-of-arms, and it was to be found there until the redemption (repurchase of land from the Order). Scholars studying the history of Túrkeve will probably want to find an explanation concerning this unique feature displayed by the settlement's seal. Hanns Lienpach is likely to have become worthy of the respect of the local community by fostering the resettlement of the village.

Similarly apparent are the noble features of the chosen coat-of-arms and the professionalism with which it was created. Presumably, the charge itself can also be linked to the name Lienpach, and perhaps even to his family's coat-of-arms. In addition, other factors such as the noble descent of the inhabitants are also to be considered. Apart from all this, the first known emblem of Túrkeve is a well-chosen symbol, in which the beloved landscape divided by the rivers Berettyó and Túr are borne in as many as two fields, accompanied by the lions referring to the martial spirit and bravery of the Cumans. This latter motif also expresses the ancient privileges of the Jazygians and Cumans, while it also evokes the heraldic beast of the ancient Greater Cumania, the crowned lion rampant. In addition, the lion is a popular symbol of communities belonging to the Reformed Church.

It is evident that the inhabitants of Túrkeve have always felt a special attachment to their coat-of-arms, which they have preserved with minor alterations for almost three centuries.

In the period of the redemption the settlement had a new seal engraved, the charge of which was identical with the previous one, with only the legend and the size being different. The legend reads *SIGILLUM POSSESSIONIS TURKEVI 1746*. The first new seal sized 23 by 27 mm can be seen on a document from 1751, issued in the name of the judge and jurors of Kevi.

The Jazygian-Cumanian settlements celebrated the 100th anniversary of their regained freedom in 1845. For this great event each settlement had their own coloured coat-of-arms created. Fortunately enough, the beautifully tinctured coat-of-arms of Túrkeve has survived, in which the obscure or hidden colours of the first coated seal came into light. (Alterations were only made in the shape of the shield and the crest across the top of it.) Thus in 1845 the inhabitants chose additional symbols as expressed by the tinctures themselves: in fields azure (Cuman-blue) lions proper (reddish-yellowish-brown), and a river (white, argent) crossing fields vert (green). This way Túrkeve's first coat-of-arms was created, the description of which is as follows:

Shield erect, quarterly, with a rounded base. In dexter chief (first) and in sinister base (fourth) azure respectively a lion rampant, proper, queue fourché, holding in the dexter paw a straight sabre argent; in dexter base (second) and in sinister chief (third) vert a bend sinister wavy argent respectively, as if each other's continuation. Across the top an open helmet sable barred or and labelled sable; round the gorget, hanging from a chain a medaillon, all or. The helm is surmounted by a five-pointed crown verdured or, adorned with gems gules above and gems azure below; the label forming an abatement in the chief. The crown is surmounted by a demi-lion proper ensigned with a three-pointed crown verdured or, langued gules, queue fourché, issuing from between two eagle vols sable and holding in the dexter paw a straight sabre argent. Mantling: on the dexter azure and or, on the sinister gules and argent.

The creation and approval of this coat-of-arms also signifies the beginning of the settlement's development toward full independence. This way the charge of the coat-of-arms will once and for all part from its sole official bearer, the seal of Kevi. The impressive charge itself will become the model and the standard for further local symbols (flags of clubs, stamps, coats-of-arms, badges, etc.), with its shapes and tinctures incorporated in their specific messages.

Since 1991 Túrkeve has had a new coat-of-arms. The body of representatives chose the coat-of-arms of 1845 as the arms of the self-government, approving all its details and colours. Thus a breach in legal continuity was restored, which was made possible by the fact that the decision was based on the knowledge and respect of traditions.