National and historical symbols of Hungary

In this section you can find the crests of almost 2400 settlements of Hungary with notes. Find the starting letter of the settlement in the list and click if you want to see it.

The Coat-of-Arms of the Township of Seregélyes [¤]
Click to zoom

Seregélyes

(Fejér County)

The settlement’s coat-of-arms can be described as follows:

Oval shield erect and azure; it is adorned with a five-pointed nobiliary crown or, decorated with gems gules and vert. In field azure a seven-feathered pelican abaisé, slightly turning toward the dexter. Pelican is feeding its nestlings with her own blood streaming down on the bird’s chest.

From below shield is surrounded by two ears of corn, with their stalks borne crosswise and bound by a ribbon gules.

The township of Seregélyes can be briefly introduced as follows:

The township of Seregélyes - formerly a market town – is located by trunk road No. 62, at a distance of 16 kilometres from Székesfehérvár. The number of its inhabitants is about 5000. The location of the settlement is ideal, since in the northeast it borders on the resort area of the Velencei Lake, and Lake Balaton, the main touristic attraction of the region surrounds Seregélyes from the west . From the south the settlement is surrounded by fertile agricultural fields. The township of Seregélyes can be found by the Sárosd-Seregélyes canal and it is surrounded by flat and hilly areas, small patches of wood, nice groves, vineyards and orchards. The area of the settlement is 7825 hectares and the houses are arranged in a ribbon-shape. The settlement is surrounded by individual farmhouses, which are administratively part of Seregélyes and which are all residential houses.

As it is attested by archeological excavations Seregélyes has been inhabited since as early as the Roman age. The first written mention of the settlement goes back to the 13th century.

The origin of the settlement’s name is a controversial issue. According to some linguists the village was named after starling flocks, a species of birds, common in this region. According to another opinion Seregélyes bears the name of a nobleman called Seregylus, who used to own the settlement.

As it is attested by historical data the landowners of Seregélyes from 1258-1945-were as follows:

From 1258-1293 the Premonstrant provost, then András, son of Apsa of Seregélyes. From 1323 onward the village was owned by Máté, an inhabitant of Fehérvár. From 1342-1345 the members of the Ugali, then from 1435 the members of the Batthyány family became the landowners. In 1650 Ferdinand II bestowed the settlement on István Zichy. From this period onward Seregélyes was the property of the Zichy family, then through marrying into the Zichy family, Count János Hadik, husband of Alexandra Zichy owned the village until as late as March 22, 1945.

The sights of Seregélyes are as follows:

The most important sight of Seregélyes is the Zichy-Hadik mansion, which was built in 1821. It is the most spectacular when seen from the pond. It was built in Classical style,with a tympanum and arcades. The building functions today as a hotel and a conference centre. The mansion is surrounded by a 20-hectare well-maintained park, in which visitors can find a swimming pool, tennis courts, playgrounds, picnic areas and picturesque walking paths.

The building of village museum in the main street of the village reflects the simplicity of rural architecture. It houses a folk art exhibition, a display of folk costumes and craftsmen’s tools. Old traditions are still cherished at Seregélyes. Local women and men can take pride in their beautiful embroidery and wood carvings.

The Calvinist church of the settlement, which was built in 1973, can be found in the village centre. The Catholic church of Seregélyes was built in the 19th century by the members of the Zichy baronial family.