National and historical symbols of Hungary

In this section you can find the crests of almost 2400 settlements of Hungary with notes. Find the starting letter of the settlement in the list and click if you want to see it.

The Coat-of-Arms of the Town of Rakamaz
Click to zoom


(Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg Conty)

The coat of arms is a shield having a shape of a triangle with equal and rounded sides and is divided into three parts by two diagonal divisions.

The diagonal dividing line that starts from the central point of the upper side of the coat of arms and the one on the left-hand side cut the two corners of the shield at 45 degrees: thus crating two triangles with equal sides. The area of the shield below the triangles is green and a silver (white) bird of pray is in it. The triangle in the top right corner is red and there is a silver (white) Latin cross in it. Another division connects the middles of the sides of the triangle in the top left corner. The colour of this triangle is golden (yellow) below the dividing line and black above it.

Explanation of the motif:

The central motif of the coat of arms is the bird of pray, which decorated the disc that was possibly used as a plait ornament and was found near the village. These masterpieces of the goldsmiths from the age of Árpád are known all over the country as the Discs of Rakamaz. The black and golden (black and yellow) strips refer to the fact that most of the inhabitants of the community were settled here from Baden-Württemberg province in the first half of the eighteenth century (the colours of the flag of Baden-Württemberg province are black and yellow).

The Latin cross placed in a red basis symbolises the Roman Catholic religion. (A decisive majority of the inhabitants belongs to this enomination.)