In this section you can find the crests of almost 2400 settlements of Hungary with notes. Find the starting letter of the settlement in the list and click if you want to see it.
(The County of Veszprém)
The coat-of-arms is a shield with a rounded base. In the field azure a lion couchant contourné or (the Lion of Litér), holding a skull between the forepaws. This unique symbol is one of the Romanesque stone carvings of national fame, to be seen on the settlement`s Calvinist church. The richly carved recessed 13th century portal is one of Hungary`s few architectural monuments that have survived from that age. The artistic value of the Romanesque style main door of the village church is further enhanced by its unique character, since the portal`s stone carvings are specific to Litér and are nowhere else to be found. This is the reason why the portal is most specifically able to evoke the settlement`s history in an age from which material remains have very rarely been found. Although the meaning of the ancient carving is one of the mysteries of art history, its particularly local character renders it significance and a symbolic importance, whereas its early origin demonstrates the continuity of the settlement`s existence.
In addition, as the village`s oldest historic work of art, the lion is worthy of being the principal heraldic charge in Litér`s coat-of-arms.
Litér is a settlement on the Balaton plateau, situated by the 72 trunk road at a distance of nine kilometres from Veszprém. Litér was inhabited as early as the Roman times and the traces of this period can be detected along the Bendola Valley. During archeological excavations a Roman-age plastered stove, larger pieces of vessels and containersas well as remains of buildings have been unearthed in the region. After the Magyar conquest, at about 1,000 the settlement was part of the possessions of King Steven I (the Saint), who, having defeated the heathen rebel, Koppány, bestowed the settlement on the bishopric of Veszprém.
The first documented mention of the village by the name Villa Lynther goes back to 1082. At the beginning of the 18th century secular landowners also possessed land here. One of the most valuable architectural monuments of the village, the Catholic (today Calvinist) church was built around 1227, with its arched, richly carved and decorated portal it is a unique work of art in the country. The settlement got destroyed on many occasions in wars devastating the whole country. Litér was burnt down by the Mongol hordes in 1242, then, when the raiders left, the village was rebuilt. It was the Turkish troops that destroyed the settlement next between 1552 and 1556. From 1557 onwards Litér was an uninhabited village. Later, once again, in 1588 Litér was registered as a populous place, but then it stood depopulated for one and a half centuries.
A contemporary document relates as follows: 'The one-towered church is deserted, the site of the parish hath been ploughed over.' By the permission of the Calvinist landlords of Mezőszentgyörgy new settlers came and stayed at Litér in 1732.In the 18th century the village was ranked among the larger ones in the region. In 1773 Litér is already mentioned as a Calvinist village, inhabited by Hungarians with a Calvinist mother-church and a rector in it. By Emperor Joseph II's edict of tolerance the villagers were able to get back their church from the bishopric of Veszprém and they began to restore it. An important contemporary document is the so-called 'School register' compiled in the Calvinist school of Litér in 1830. It was in 1885 that officially names were given to streets for the first time. The Registrar's Office was set up in 1896. When the Calvinist church was renovated in 1898, some irresponsible builders unfortunately destroyed the most valuable, painted wooden ceiling and a few parts of it were then built into the choir.
The relatively slow and peaceful development of the 19th century soon gave way to an eventful 20th century, which was witnessed by members of the older generation. The young ones are writing the pages of Litér's contemporary history.
The sights of the village include:
1) The Calvinist church: built around 1227, and a valuable architectural monument in spite of several reconstructions. The present-day portal decorated with statues and floral ornaments is a unique example of late Romanesque art. The stone lions in front of the portal, holding a human skull in their forepaws originally functioned as supporters. The church is open for visitors. The key is available at 47 Dózsa Street.
2)The remains of a villa and a well from the Roman period at a distance of 150 kms from the southern entrance to the Bendola Valley. The Roman-age cistern is filled with water these days as well. The Roman military road passes by the villa and leads to the Séd Valley.
3) The modern-style Roman Catholic church, consecrated on August 20, 1992.
4) Alkotmány (Consitution) Cultural Centre.
In addition to the formerly described sights the outer fields of the village of Litér are also of great natural beauty. The marked tour paths lead fromVárpalota and come to an end at the railway station at Balatonalmádi. These paths wind via picturesque scenery in the Séd Valley, up and down the Mogyorós and Nyerges Hills and passes by Romkut.