In this section you can find the crests of almost 2400 settlements of Hungary with notes. Find the starting letter of the settlement in the list and click if you want to see it.
The settlement's current (modern) coat-of-arms:
The coat-of-arms of Kondoros was approved at a ceremonial meeting of the local government in December 1995.
Shield erect, quarterly, its base curved to a point. The upper dexter and the lower sinister fields are identical: party per fess, vert and or. These fields symbolise the eight roads which lead from the neighbouring settlements, towns as well as from countries into the centre of Kondoros. The roads then reach the core of the settlement, the building of the 'csárda', that is the village inn. The charge in the upper sinister part is the stylised figure of a condor, with its head raised. The golden condor is borne against a red background and it is facing the village inn.
The condor is a symbolic figure and the condor motif, which appears in the settlement's coat-of-arms, was designed using 19th-century print seals, which are kept in the collections of the county archives and of the local history museum.
The charge in the lower dexter field is the building of the local 'csárda', argent, and it is borne in field azure. The colour blue symbolises purity, truth and loyality. The building of the inn is associated with the Romantic memory of the popular folk hero of Hungarian history, Sándor Rózsa.
Above the charge of the inn some celestial bodies are borne, all of which have been respected since times immemorial. In the upper sinister corner of the blue field a 16-ray sun, rayonnant or, while in the upper dexter corner the crescent of the moon is borne, argent.
Kondoros is a municipality in Békés County.The settlement is nationally, even internationally famous for its village inn. Kondoros is situated by trunk road No. 44 between the towns of Békéscsaba and Szarvas. The name of the settlement was first mentioned in 1229 in the Registry of Várad, in connection with its relation to the parish of Békés. In 1403 the parish of Kondoros was listed among those settlements which were the possessions of the Gyula estate. After 1566 Kondoros was occupied by the Turks and after 1602 it was already considered uninhabited by contemporary documents.
In the early 19th century the formerly vast puszta at Kondoros went into the possession of the Batthyány, Bolza, Mitrovszky and Wenckheim families.
As independent settlement Kondoros came into being on December 23, 1875.
The most decisive factor, which eventually led to the establishment of the village was the Kondoros inn, which was built at the meeting point of eight main roads.
Romantic stories of the lives of the outlaws at the Hungarian Puszta are also related to the inn, since Sándor Rózsa, the most famous outlaw of the Hungarian Great Plains area used to frequent this place.
Among the natural resources of the settlement the protected flora of the virgin grassland is especially noteworthy. Its rare plants include the meadow sage, the knapweed, the lanky star of Bethlehem and the miniature version of the almond-tree.
The most outstanding sights of the settlement include the formerly mentioned building of the village inn, which, following its restoration in 1984 eventually became the property of the settlement's local government in 2001. Today the building once again awaits renovation.
The Geist Castle can be found at a distance of 3.5 kilometres from Kondoros. In the surrounding park visitors can see a nice chapel, designed by the famous Hungarian architect, Miklós Ybl.
The altar of the neo-Baroque Lutheran Church, built in 1904, was carved from a single piece of wood by György Urr, a sculptor from Kassa. The Roman Catholic Church, which was built in 1984 in late Baroque style, can boast some famous pictures and statues which go back to the late 1700s and were transferred from the Budapest Inner City Church into the Roman Catholic Church at Kondoros. In the churchyard a relief was erected in 1992 to honour the memory of András Laurinyecz, a martyr of the revolution and war of independence of 1956.
The gravestone of István Petőfi, one of the founding fathers of Kondoros and the younger brother of Sándor Petőfi, Hungary's famous poet, can be found in the schoolyard of the Damjanich Street building of the local primary school.
In the main square visitors can see the memorial plaque of the 1848/49 revolution and war of independence in front of the building of the Village Hall. This is a work of art by sculptor Béla Mladonyiczki and it was made to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the historical event.
In Kossuth Square one can see the 'Founding Stone', a millenial statue by artist Géza Széri-Varga, which was unveiled on August 20, 2000.
The Slovak-Hungarian Art Centre and Village Museum was opened for the public within the framework of the millecentennial celebrations and it can boast a rich art collection.
In the main square of Kondoros a new fountain was also constructed as part of the festive events of 1996 and it is to replace the very first artesian well of the settlement, which used to be found at the same place.