National and historical symbols of Hungary

In this section you can find the crests of almost 2400 settlements of Hungary with notes. Find the starting letter of the settlement in the list and click if you want to see it.

The Coat of Arms of the Village of Jászivány [¤]
Click to zoom

Jászivány

(Jász-Nagykun-Szolnok County)

Asymmetrical shield erect, azure and vert, party per bend sinister dexter. Its base is curved to a point, on the dexter side dented. The height and the width are proportioned 5:4. Shield is enframed or and contoured sable.

Below the shield a swallow-tailed symmetrical ribbon or is borne, contoured sable, with the settlement’s name JÁSZIVÁNY inscribed in it in letters sable.

Shield is adorned with a verdured crown, lined gules and decorated with gems vert on three leafy motives and a gem gules on the leaf in the middle.

In dexter field azure a horn or is hanging. In sinister field vert a lamb argent and passant ; with its forefoot it is holding a banner which is hanging on a cross. The swallow-tailed banner or is quartered by a cross gules.

The settlement’s coat of arms can be interpreted as follows:

The charges int he coat of arms of Jászivány go back to ancient Jazygian symbols.

The traditional Jazygian coats of arms were tinctured azure and most oftern they were decorated with the horn, an ancient Jazygian symbol.

In addition to the colour azure the tincture vert also appears in Jászivány’s coat of arms. This feature is a reference to the settlement’s agricultural characteristics as well as to the natural resources of the Hungarian Great Plain region. The lamb, the main charge in field vert, which is holding the banner of crusaders is the attribute of St. John the Baptist and as such it recalls the settlement’s name and the importance of Catholicism in the history and survival of Jazygian settlements.

A brief history of Jászivány

In the past Jászivány was not part of Szolnok County, but it used to belong to Heves. The first written mention of the settlement’s name goes back to 1234, when King András II bestowed a settlement called Ivan-föld.

Later the village of Heves-Ivány was the property of various noblemen, the most significant of which were the members of the Visontai and Palóczy families. In 1527 Antal Palóczy bequeathed the village to the Chapter of Eger. In the period of the Turkish Conquest Heves-Ivány lived a life typical of the Turkish-conquered settlements.

The local dirt road, which links Szolnok and Eger, is of historical significance. This is the famous ’Imperial Route’, on which the dreaded hordes of the Turkish sultan marched after the siege of Szolnok. The village got completely destroyed during the Turkish reign. The lands of Heves-Ivány were leased to the people of Jász-Apáthi, who later exchanged these lands for those of Kömpöcpuszta. Individual farmhouses appeared and spread slowly in the area. The first school for the children of nearby farmsteads was built in 1906. To replace the church, which had been destroyed by the Turks, a new Roman Catholic church was built in 1930. It is the symbol of the settlement’s progress. The village became autonomous in 1950. Since it is part of the Jászság region it was renamed Jászivány. In 1975 it had a joint government with Jászapáti and then on January 1, 1991 it became autonomous again. In that period the number of inhabitants was 1131 but this number by now has gone down to 440. The most typical feature of Jászivány’s contemporary inhabitants is aging.

Photos:

1. Roman Catholic Church

2. Vicarage

3. Mayor's Office and Library

4. Cultural Centre

5. Day Care Kindergarten and Elementary School

6. Street Scene