In this section you can find the crests of almost 2400 settlements of Hungary with notes. Find the starting letter of the settlement in the list and click if you want to see it.
Shield erect, azure and vert. Below the shield the settlement’s name HAJDÚSÁMSON is inscribed in the form of an arch. Above the inscription the motif of a twining plant, which suggests harmony and balance. Two lions statant are borne on the plant motif. The beasts are turning toward each other and their bodies also decorated with floral patterns. The beasts serve as supporters and they are holding the shield azure. Convex chief is tinctured vert. Shield is transversed by the charge of a ram-bull-lion or goat-shaped beast rampant and argent. Shield is topped by a warrior’s helm and a breast plate, both borne at a slant to the sinister. From this motif a mantling is issuing, on the dexter side azure and or, on the sinister gules and argent. Shield is crested by a crown borne affronté and decorated with celery motives and gems, all or. The three gems symbolise Trinity; the one on the top in the middle and the two gems on the two edges of the band are tinctured gules, in the middle of the lower band and the two side gems on the top are vert. The medallion around the neckpiece is gules. Crown is also lined gules.
Hajdúsámson town lies to the north-east of Debrecen in Hajdú-Bihar County. It is proud of archeological finds from the middle period of the Bronze Age. There is a weapon-finit in the prehistoric collection of Déri Museum in Debrecen, known as the treasure of Hajdúsámson which was found in the land of the town in 1907. It consists of a battle-pickaxe and a beautifully decorated sword which were buried in the midetle of the 2nd thousanet years B.C.
It appeared as 'Túrsámson' in early records, for instance in Váradi Regestrum from 1213. This is the first written mention the name of the settlement. In the 13th-14th century 'Túr'name disappeared and it was called 'Sámson simply'. By this time, namely neighbouring Szalóksámson was depopulated thus there was no necessity for the distinctive prefix.
According to evidence of place-names from of the collection 1864 there also was a 'Nyírsámson' name in the standard language refening to nearness of Nyírség, but at that time Sámson was the official name of the town. During the organizing of counties the town was annexed to Hajdú-Bihar County at the end of the 19th century and then it was named a present-day Hajdúsámson name.
Its legal status was villa, possessio in the Middle Ages, that is village and possession. At the end of the 14th century it was mentioned as a customs place. Dózsa family and Hunyadi family from Debrecen rised from the possessors of the village. It was territory under Ottomen rule. In 1703 Ferenc Rákóczi II. camped here in Sámson.
According to facts of Mária Terézia's socage organizing sixty-five from a hundred heads of family were serfs in 1772, and this ratio also remuined later.
Number of inhabitants has continuously increase.
In the economic development of the town agriculture always was determinant. Industrialization has started in the middle of 1800s, above all milling and distilling industry, later iron and handicraft industry were prominen. After the change of regime a sudden economic development has began. Some tinned food, refreshment and fodderindustrial units or factories have established, two fuelling stations have built and a lot of enterprise have existenced. Over four hundred enterprises are in the settlement. The tasks of the future are creating of urban surroundings, nice and well-kept streets and public parks, establishing of centres of the institutions which will indude larger units.