National and historical symbols of Hungary

In this section you can find the crests of almost 2400 settlements of Hungary with notes. Find the starting letter of the settlement in the list and click if you want to see it.

The Coat-of-Arms of the Village of Balinka [¤]
Click to zoom

Balinka

(Fejér County)

The settlement’s coat of arms is a triangular shield erect and quarterly, azure and gules. In the middle of the shield an escutcheon sable. In sinister chief azure a stylised oak tree or is issuing from a regularly-shaped triple mound vert. Oak tree is adorned with two acorns and three leaves, all or. In dexter chief gules a wavy bend argent, above which the charge of a stylised mill wheel or is borne encouped. In sinister base gules a crown or is borne encouped. The crown is transversed with a scimitar argent sinister dexter. In dexter base azure a three-stalked stylised flower or is issuing from a regularly shaped triple mound vert. It has three five-petalled flowers argent and each stalk is decorated with two leaves or. Escutcheon sable is adorned with two mining tools borne encouped and placed crosswise, both of them headed argent and handled or. Below them a miner’s lamp argent is borne encouped, flamed gules.

The charges in the settlement’s coat-of-arms can be interpreted as follows:

The four parts of the settlement’s coat-of-arms refer to the four parts of the village. The first quarter is to symbolise Balinka and the stylised oak tree as well as the triple mound on which it stands recall the oak-covered Bakony Hills. The second part of the settlement’s coat-of-arms symbolises Balinkabánya, by its medieval name Eszény. The wavy bend argent is a reference to the Gaja Brook and the mill wheel is a charge, which recalls the one-time water mill, which used to operate on the Gaja Brook. The scimitar piercing the crown in the third part of the shield is the symbol of Mecsér, by its present-day name, Mecsér-telep. The word ’mecsér’ is of Slavic origin and it used to mean a swordsmith. This part of the settlement was in the Middle Ages inhabited by royal swordsmiths. The fourth part of the settlement’s coat-of-arms symbolises Kisgyónbánya, which used to be an independent village in medieval times. Due to its breathtaking beauty and its unique flowers Kisgyón and its environs became a haven for nature lovers and hikers. The triple mound and the stylised flower as charges are references to this fact. Finally, the escutcheon in the middle bears charges, which are typical of all the previously descibed parts of the settlement. In the Middle Ages all four parts were independent and they also differed in their historical characteristics. Unfortunately, Balinka, Eszény, Mecsér and Kisgyón all got destroyed in the period of the Turkish Conquest. After the expulsion of the Turks the uninhabited areas were resettled and due to the developments in mining somewhat later they began to thrive.

In summary, Balinka’s present-day coat-of-arms is one of the so-called canting arms, which tells spectators about the settlement’s geography, history and the origin of its name.

Balinka is a settlement in the county’s northwestern part and it lies at the eastern edge of the Bakony Hills. Mecsér is part of the settlement. The village is surrounded by undulating hills and in the north it borders on the Vértes Hill, in the east and in the south the Bakony’s Mellár Highlands.

In 1193 the settlement got first mentioned as Boincan, and from 1755 onward it has been called Balinka. The village was originally a crown property, then it was owned by members of various nobiliary families. In the first decade of capitalistic development it became quite clear that the village could not support the growing number of its inhabitants. The opening of the mine at Kisgyón brought change in this respect. In addition to mining local inhabitants also made their living from growing vegetables, cabbage, onion and pumpkin.

At present the number of inhabitants at Balinka is 1024. From the changing of the political system in Hungary the village is an independent settlement. During the past 13 years the members of the settlement’s self government have been working to raise the living standard and improve the quality of life at Balinka by offering all modern conveniences to the inhabitants.

The most important sight of the village is its Roman Catholic church.

The national ’blue’ tour route can be found in the vicinity of the village. The Tölgyes tourist centre as well as the shelter hut at Kisgyón (near Bakonycsernye) offer ideal conditions and good accomodation for visitors and tourists. Local inhabitants grow wine as well and some of them can boast their own quality wine.

Photos

1. The settlement’s main street with the Mayor’s Office.

2. Main street

3. Catholic Church

4. Steam engine called ’Győző’

5. Mine (Closed down in 2003).

6. Wooden headboard and the statue of St. Barbara

7. Kisgyán

8. Kisgyán

Further information can be obtained from the internet: www.balinka.hu