National and historical symbols of Hungary

In this section you can find the crests of almost 2400 settlements of Hungary with notes. Find the starting letter of the settlement in the list and click if you want to see it.

The Coat-of-Arms of the Municipality of Balatonkenese [¤]
Click to zoom


(County Veszprém)

Balatonkenese, a settlement with a coastline of twelve kilometres, can be found in a picturesque location in the northeastern edge of Lake Balaton.

The coat-of-arms is a heater erect with a pointed base. It bears: argent, issuant from a ground vert a vine stock proper coiled around a prop. The black-and-white drawing of Balatonkenese's old coat-of-arms is at present kept in Országos Széchenyi Könyvtár (National Széchenyi Library).

On 12 May 1995 the village's emblems were defined in a decree by the body of representatives of the local authority. In this document the old coat-of-arms appears again.

The name Kenese is of Slavic origin, and it means chief, or prince. The first mention of the village dates back to the deed of foundation of the nunnery at Veszprémvölgy, written in Greek in the year 990.

The inhabitants of the nearby villages of Csittény, Máma and Sándor, which also used to belong to the nunnery, would have moved to Kenese in troubled times.

The man-made hollow recesses cut into the sides of Magas-partok (meaning 'High coastline') used to serve as hiding places for the dwellers who fled from the Mongols and later from the Turks. Today these one-time hideouts are popularly known as Töröklikak (Turkish holes) and Tatárlikak (Mongol holes).

There is a marked pathway leading to the hilltop, where visitors can enjoy a wonderful view. It is also here that the tátorján (Crambe Tataria) can be seen. This is one of Hungary's rare and protected flowers, which bursts into bloom in May.

The dwellers' traditional occupations are fishing and viticulture. The valleys, the sloping hillsides, the location sheltered from cold winds, the excellent quality of the soil, and the moderating influence of the water surface of Lake Balaton have all created favourable conditions for viticulture.

As regards landlords, for 650 years the village was owned by the nuns of Veszprémvölgy, then by the Jesuits at the town of Győr.

With an area of 896 cadastral acres, in 1873 Kenese could boast the most extensive vineyards all along Lake Balaton. The local table wines, pleasant to the taste, were transported to faraway regions.

The silver field of the coat-of-arms refers to Lake Balaton. After the railway line between Budapest and Tapolca had been opened in 1909, bathing culture started to develop quickly. A number of hotels were built, and the vineyards were gradually replaced by hundreds of holiday homes. At present there are five beaches, as well as sailing harbours, hotels and pensions awaiting tourists to come for a holiday.